See How Easy It Is To Legally Perform Weddings in Louisiana
Have you ever thought about becoming ordained to legally perform wedding ceremonies in Louisiana?
Maybe it's something you wouldn't want to do every weekend, but there's a special couple that will soon exchange vows and you would like to be the person who legally binds them until death do us part.
Just consider how lasting a memory you would have in this couple's lives. They might not remember who all they visited with at the reception, but they'll certainly remember the person who deemed them "Man and Wife."
Wedding Officiant Could Be The Perfect Part-time Weekend Job
Or, it might be that you were looking for an easy part-time weekend job and this one is right up your alley!
According to the website, ulc.org, getting ordained to legally perform these ceremonies in Louisiana is relatively simple.
In fact, certain persons are immediately authorized to officiate the services. This includes:
- State judges
- Justices of the peace
- Priests, ministers and rabbis
- Religious Society of Friends clerk
- Clergy of any religious sect who is at least 18 years old
- Prior to the wedding, other officiants have to file an affidavit with a court clerk in the parish where the wedding is to be held
Is It Expensive To Get Ordained To Perform Weddings In Louisiana?
Getting ordained to perform these ceremonies and a legally binding wedding in Louisiana is relatively painless and most of the paperwork can be prepared/filed for a nominal fee.
The website youcanofficiate.com points out just how easy the process is, but there are several key points that must be done to complete the process.
- You will need to complete and submit the Louisiana Marriage Officiant Registration Affidavit. And note, this submission MUST be notarized
- In addition to the Marriage Officiant Registration Affidavit you will also need to submit your Credentials of Ministry. The exact documents required varies depending on the Parish.
- Once ordained you will need to register with the Parish Clerk’s office that issues the Marriage License to the couple.
- After performing the ceremony, the wedding officiant or minister must complete and submit all signed marriage certificates and the original license to the court clerk who furnished it within 10 days of the actual wedding. Officiants who fail to do so may be fined and banned from performing any future weddings in Louisiana.
They point out the website, theamm.org as their preferred choice to receive the official certification, but a quick Google search and we've found other sites including ulc.org, themonastery.org and getordained.org where a person can easily complete the simple process with most of it done online.
10 Unique Things Every House In Louisiana Must Have
Gallery Credit: Gary McCoy