KISS Country 93.7 logo
Get our free mobile app

In what can only be viewed as an incredible escalation of consequences for those who choose to ignore the state and/or national orders in regard to the COVID-19 pandemic's most recent surge.  Things in the south are getting especially infections, even more so when you talk about Louisiana and Mississippi (the two worst states in respect to daily case numbers).

The ArkLaTex Homepage is reporting that the authorities in Mississippi are taking the consequences of disobeying the direct orders issued to every citizen via an official Health Order to a much higher level.  The Mississippi Department of Health issued the alert late last week with this dramatic claim: If you contract COVID-19, you must quarantine for 10 days or more - or else.  If you don't, authorities say you're facing up to $5,000 in fines and up to 5 years in prison!

Mississippi Prisoners Administered Covid Vaccinations
Photo by Spencer Platt/Getty Images

Louisiana recently hit a milestone in vaccinations, getting within striking distance of having a full half of the population vaccinated against COVID-19 - and we're near the bottom of the barrel!  Mississippi is doing even worse, as despite vaccination efforts there - they haven't even broken 40%.

With the sharp rise in cases - especially in Louisiana, Texas, Mississippi, and Florida, how long will it be before we see more "emergency rules" like this "lock-your-self-up-or-we'll-do-it-for-you-plan?"

CHECK IT OUT: Here's how to stop your glasses from fogging while wearing a face mask

KEEP READING: See states hit hardest by COVID-19’s impact on tourism

More From KISS Country 93.7