It won't be long before the kids are headed back to school and if you can manage to get hold of their school supply list before they actually return, it could save you quite a bit.

The Louisiana Annual Sales Tax Holiday is coming on Friday, August 1 and Saturday, August 2 and provides an exemption from state sales tax on the first $2,500 of the purchase price of most individual items of tangible personal property for non-business use.

The holiday applies only to the 4 percent state sales tax. It does not apply to sales taxes levied by parishes, municipalities, school boards, and other political subdivisions of the state.

Under Louisiana law, the annual sales tax holiday takes place on the first consecutive Friday and Saturday each August.

Though most non-commercial items you'll purchase will be exempt, here are some of the exceptions to the Sales Tax Holiday. In addition to the specific exclusions in the Act for vehicles and meals, the state sales tax holiday does not apply to:

  • Purchases of taxable services (such as hotel occupancy)
  • Amusement, recreational, and athletic admissions
  • Repairs to tangible personal property
  • Laundry, cleaning, pressing, and dyeing services
  • Vehicle parking
  • The furnishing of cold storage space
  • Printing services
  • Telecommunication services
  • Leases or rentals of tangible personal property

For more information go to

More From KISS Country 93.7